## INSTRUMENT OF ACCESSION TO THE TREATY OF AMITY AND COOPERATION IN SOUTHEAST ASIA BY THE KINGDOM OF THE NETHERLANDS

**WHEREAS** the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which was signed on 24 February 1976 in Bali, Indonesia, was amended by the First, Second and Third Protocols Amending the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which were signed on 15 December 1987, 25 July 1998 and 23 July 2010, respectively;

**WHEREAS** Article 18, Paragraph 3, of the aforesaid Treaty as amended by Article 1 of the aforesaid Third Protocol provides that States outside Southeast Asia and regional organisations whose members are only sovereign States may accede to the Treaty subject to the consent of all the States in Southeast Asia, namely Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Republic of the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam; and

**WHEREAS** all the States in Southeast Asia have consented to the accession of the Kingdom of the Netherlands to the Treaty;

**NOW**, therefore, the Government of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, having considered the aforesaid Treaty as amended by the First, Second and Third Protocols, hereby accedes to the same and undertakes faithfully to perform and carry out all the stipulations therein contained.

**IN WITNESS WHEREOF**, this Instrument of Accession is signed by the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

**DONE** at The Hague, the Netherlands, this third Day of August in the Year Two Thousand and Twenty-Two.



