

## INSTRUMENT OF ACCESSION TO THE TREATY OF AMITY AND COOPERATION IN SOUTHEAST ASIA BY THE REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

WHEREAS the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which was signed on 24 February 1976 in Bali, Indonesia, was amended by the First, Second and Third Protocols Amending the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which were signed on 15 December 1987, 25 July 1998 and 23 July 2010, respectively;

WHEREAS Article 18, Paragraph 3, of the aforesaid Treaty as amended by Article 1 of the aforesaid Third Protocol provides that States outside Southeast Asia and regional organisations whose members are only sovereign States may accede to the Treaty subject to the consent of all the States in Southeast Asia, namely Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Republic of the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam; and

WHEREAS all the States in Southeast Asia have consented to the accession of the Republic of South Africa to the Treaty;

**NOW**, therefore, the Government of the Republic of South Africa, having considered the aforesaid Treaty as amended by the First, Second and Third Protocols, hereby accedes to the same and undertakes faithfully to perform and carry out all the stipulations therein contained.

**IN WITNESS WHEREOF**, this Instrument of Accession is signed by the Minister of International Relations and Cooperation of the Republic of South Africa.

DONE at Cape Town , South Africa, this Tenth Day of November in the Year Two Thousand and Twenty.

G.N.M. Rowdow Dr Naledi Pandor

Minister of International Relations and Cooperation Republic of South Africa



## INSTRUMENT OF EXTENSION OF THE TREATY OF AMITY AND COOPERATION IN SOUTHEAST ASIA

WHEREAS the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which was signed on 24 February 1976 in Bali, Indonesia, was amended by the First, Second and Third Protocols Amending the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, which were signed on 15 December 1987, 25 July 1998 and 23 July 2010, respectively;

WHEREAS Article 18, Paragraph 3, of the aforesaid Treaty as amended by Article 1 of the aforesaid Third Protocol provides that States outside Southeast Asia and regional organisations whose members are only sovereign States may accede to the Treaty subject to the consent of all the States in Southeast Asia, namely Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Republic of the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam; and

**WHEREAS** the Republic of South Africa, through a letter from the Minister of International Relations and Cooperation of the Republic of South Africa dated 31 May 2018, expressed its desire to accede to the Treaty;

NOW, therefore, the Governments of Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Republic of the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam, having considered the said letter, hereby consent to the accession to the Treaty

1 6 APR 2021

THE ASEAN SECRETARIAT LEGAL SERVICES & AGREEMENTS DIRECTORATE amended by the First, Second and Third Protocols, by the Government of the Republic of South Africa.

**DONE** in a single original in the English language and **SIGNED** on the Tenth Day of November in the Year Two Thousand and Twenty at:

Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam Phnom Penh, Cambodia Jakarta, Indonesia Vientiane, Lao PDR Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar Manila, Philippines Singapore Bangkok, Thailand Ha Noi, Viet Nam For Brunei Darussalam:

DATO ERYWAN PEHIN YUSOF Minister of Foreign Affairs II For the Kingdom of Cambodia:

**PRAK SOKHONN** 

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation

For the Republic of Indonesia:

RETNO L.P. MARSUDI Minister for Foreign Affairs For the Lao People's Democratic Republic:

SALEUMXAY KOMMASITH

Minister of Foreign Affairs

For Malaysia:

DATO' SERI HISHAMMUDDIN TUN HUSSEIN

Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Republic of the Union of Myanmar:

**U KYAW TIN** 

Union Minister for International Cooperation

For the Republic of the Philippines:

TEODORO L. LOCSIN, JR. Secretary of Foreign Affairs

For the Republic of Singapore:

DR VIVIAN BALAKRISHNAN

Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Kingdom of Thailand:

DON PRAMUDWINAI

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs For the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam:

PHAM BINH MINH

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs